Wanda & Nova deViator: Pacification

In early 2009 Maja Delak and Luka Prinčič created a performance called “Une façon d’aimer”, a duet that explored violence, love, sexual identities, and power relations through a fragmented mixture of various media – among them, also, a lot of music. That is where a punk rendition of proto-feminist You Don’t Own Me and sexually/bdsm-charged Domina’s Doll songs emerged. The former got quickly picked up by a local initiative K4format and published it on their compilation. The duo reinvented themselves as Wanda & Nova deViator to extend their reach on concert stages and dancefloors and continued to work on new tracks. They premièred a new performance “Frozen Images”, which delved even deeper into a “new media concert” form, utilizing real-time manipulation of video, songs with heavy breakbeat and electro-influenced beats, and lyrics exploring the contemporary life of consumerism, pornification, over-sexualisation, digital piracy, and the condition of contemporary subject. The performance lingered on an uneasy margin between theatre and dancefloor, between contemplation of the spectacle and body movement induced by loudness and beats. Since then the duo continued experimenting with forms and created two derivatives: a drone&noise audio-visual ambient-electronics show “Sublimation Revision” for ‘listening and watching’ occasions and a full-on dancefloor assault “Resistance”, which strived for the simplicity of a concert-like or even electronic live-act situation. This album is a transformation of the latter, a result of a long process of finalizing the tracks, rerecording the vocals, and collaboration with mixing engineer Igor “PlankTon” Vuk. This is outspoken electronic braindance music with a punk attitude and occasional excursions into triphop.

01. Oral Pacification 05:15
02. Slave Drive 05:15
03. Love Song 06:28
04. Pirates 04:40
05. Emotionally Unemployed 04:47
06. One Click Away 05:27
07. Princess 05:44
08. Because (skit) 00:58
09. Procedure 03:18
10. Domina’s Doll 06:10
11. Histrionics of Love 05:51
12. You Don’t Own Me 03:18

written, produced and recorded by Maja Delak and Luka Prinčič
mixed and mastered by Igor Vuk

published under Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike (BY-SA) licence
created mostly with Free/Libre Open Source Software

This KAMIZDAT release KAM003 is available as a high quality digital download, cd-r, usb and booklet in limited and numbered editions at kamizdat.bandcamp.com/album/pacification. Wanda & Nova deViator’s live shows and other projects: wndv.si

studio and media support: Radio Študent Ljubljana

Financially supported by: City Municipality of Ljubljana
2013 EMANAT production – emanat.si